Caen Hill (Tuesday 7th July)

Since the start of June I have only used the car three times, the last time being my journey to Caen Hill three weeks ago. Yesterday and this morning I was obliged to stay in because the builders were working in the loft, which of course made me desperate to go out, especially considering all the noise, so I shot off in the car the moment I could.

I had several calls to make in Devizes - B&Q, Lidl, Morrisons - and when that was all done I returned to Caen Hill. On previous visits this year I had seen either no swans or one swan, but today I saw two. From its foot tag I think the male was the one that had been missing in action. I sat at a table behind the pounds at Monument Lock reading for half-an-hour and then as I walked back I was pleased to run into fellow blipper Number147. She was giving her spaniel puppy Hetty her second walk of the day. After we'd said goodbye I found this grey heron standing quite near the towpath.

L.
7.7.2020 (2036 hr)

Blip #3254 (#3004 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2020 #106/266 + #048/100 Extras
Day #3758 (856 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2384 (#2225 + 159 in archived blips)

Birds series
Caen Hill series
Canals series
Devizes series
Herons series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

Caen Hill, 7 July 2020 (Flickr album of // photos)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Phoenix Foundation - Don't Stop (2013)
Having reached January 2013 in my trawl through old Mojo magazines, I played the attendant CD, one of their exclusive album reconstructions by different artists, in this case Rumours on a CD called Rumours Revisited. My preferred selection is a version of Christine McVie's song Don't Stop by New Zealand-based Phoenix Foundation. They appeared on Later with Jools Holland  in 2011.

One year ago:
Bradford On Avon (The English Summer)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.