Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

GINGER

Many thanks for all the kind wishes yesterday - the back is much much better. I am so glad I recover quickly these days, mainly due to yoga.

So off to Greenock today to discuss a new contract. Left in snow, howling wind and sleet, but it was dry when I arrived. This is the new Andy Scott sculpture in Cathcart Street. I am not wild about most of his pieces, especially the fantastic and religious creatures, but he does seem to understand horses. This is a reference to the cart horses that were used in the shipyards when the Greenock harbours were filled with ships from every sugar-growing region of the world. Ginger is named after a cart horse that drowned on 23 October 1889 in the old Albert Harbour. Glad he is remembered.

The Prof is out at his choir night and it would be fun to report I was up to some nonsense while he is away, but I'm just tidying up a very chaotic study.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.