Northern Exposure

By Northern

Thistley

Should know what type of thistle thing this is but name had escaped me at the moment... probably a marsh thistle.

Haven’t been out at the ness for a few weeks due to there being cattle in the fields I normally walk through and never managing to time my walk with low tide when I could go via the shore. So it was really interesting to see how things have changed in the plant world. Not the least being the height of the nettle jungle I had to fight my way through at one point.

Masses of bog cotton like snow drifts in places. Everywhere covered in flowers, orchids, ragged robbin, lady’s bedstraw, tiny St Johns wort and grass of parnassus. Bright jewel colours dotting the landscape. I seem to spend a lot of time crawling around on the ground but it’s worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.