The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Tree creepers and siskins ..

It was my bird group day today and we went to Potteric Carr ..

It was a tortuous journey from Hull .. it took about 45 minutes to get out of town - the roads were choc-a-bloc with container lorries .. then as I neared the reserve the fuel light came on, so that caused even further delays .. and THEN .. it took ages to find my group, not helped by being texted directions sending me in the wrong direction .. waaaaahh!

Anyhoo ... I had a great day - the morning was sunny and bright (but cold - it started snowing as I arrived) - I saw so many tree creepers, my first decent sightings - also great sightings of siskin and redpoll.

The afternoon was a bit overcast and my bittern search resulted in the briefest sighting of a bittern in flight before dropping down into the reeds .. and I got a shot of a jay and reed bunting on the feeding table.

A pretty dire start to the day - but a very satisfactory end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.