New Pet

We got rid of our pets when we decided to move up here. I felt bad because we had adopted unbelievably cute rescue cats . They were re-homed and I hope they are very happy. I enjoy the freedom of being able to go out or away at a moments notice without worrying about the cats. We have inherited this little chap by the front door. I quite like garden statues. He can stay. Maybe I should paint him.Do you watch the Repair Shop - I could get some tips from them.

Spent the morning in Kendal. It  was busy. I went into a lot of shops. Most people not wearing masks, I wonder if emerging science on tiny droplets in the air  will cause the Government to change the advice on face coverings in shops - in England - (Nicola insisting on it in Scotland)  As more and more people are in the shops the risk must go up. For the first time I wore my neck tube wrap thing over my nose in every shop today and washed it when I got home.  Went into 4 shops before I tracked down elastic.  There has been a run with everyone making masks. The woman who runs the little haberdashers had been busy making masks. Very enterprising of her- I bought one. But plan to turn a pillowcase into more washable masks for us and Mum. 

Day 111. 
Just 85 deaths yesterday taking the total to 44,602. .
Local BBC Cumbria reports  there were 5 positive test cases  per 100,000 this last week. We have 500,000 people , that makes 25 cases in total. 
 Rishi Sunak has announced schemes  to try and help jobs and spending on hospitality. Half price meals out Mon- Wed in August.  Oliver Dowden, the culture Secretary opened nail bars, gyms and pools. Outdoor pools open at the weekend, indoor pools open on 25 July. As someone who enjoyed a weekly  aqua aerobics class in  a small hotel  pool, this may mean classes will resume.  I am sure our teacher  will want us back,. She's a self employed single Mum with 2 young boys. I wonder how she has  managed. There are only 6 of us in the class but the changing room is warm, damp and cramped. I would think that's a virus breeding ground. I'm not rushing back., I'll stick to the Lakes.  There has been a campaign to reopen Grange lido. Open air pools are the way to go. Maybe this will help Grange. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.