Photomuncher's Spot

By photomuncher

Exciting ...

... Times

Getting a new pair of running shoes is always a highlight for me. It used to be New Balance, then Brooks and now Saucony.  Earlier makes are lost in the mists of time - we are going back fifty plus years - now, how can that be?  Oh dear.

These were bought locally yesterday.  I hiked into town, masked up, literally elbowed my way through the door, to be met with two young lads and an otherwise empty shop.  

Says the 14 year old (well, you know what I mean) "do you have an appointment sir?".  Me, perplexed, holding up my old shoes, "I am sorry no. I was hoping to get these replaced." 

"Would that be a direct replacement Sir? says the 12 year old. "Yes indeed" says I. "Well, if you will sit in the corner (I looked around for the naughty stool) I think we can help you Sir. I will get a pair for you to try. Please feel free to use the hand sanitiser." 

Five minutes later I am on my way out (I am still the only customer) with a spring in my step and a hole in my wallet.  I am told these are good for 500 kilometres.  That sounds a lot. Let's hope they don't see me out: I'd like the chance to buy another pair under non-COVID conditions.

Take care everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.