whaa

By whaa

A shop with a history (and lots of stuff!)

I'm not old. At least I don't consider myself old! But I do appreciate old things, places, people, traditions and knowledge.

Actually, this hardware shop isn't as old as I thought it was... it opened in 1947 according to their website (where you'll find plenty more photos plus a video of their train!) . However it certainly seems to belong to a very different generation to the mobile phone shops et al. on Gosforth High Street. Newcastle is a wonderful city and somewhere I thoroughly enjoy living ... but my observation is that the Tyneside mentality desires quick change, often simply for the sake of change. I don't see as many historic shops, businesses and pubs here as I do in many other towns, cities, regions of the UK. I prepare to be corrected!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.