Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

St Stephen's Church, Stockbridge

I ventured into central Edinburgh for the first time since lockdown with the main aim of returning some clothes I had bought online at the beginning of lockdown. I failed over this so was a bit fed up at having spent a fortune on parking, although I have now posted two parcels off and hope I'll get refunds in the fullness of time. I would never normally drive into town but I'm not keen on catching buses at present, particularly as it seems a lot of people aren't wearing masks. There was loads of parking available and not a lot of people about. Facemasks are now compulsory in shops but I would have worn one anyway. It was all a bit strange - I suppose I had somehow thought that there would be some normality about, but there wasn't and I can see now that there won't be.

This church is a familiar landmark in Edinburgh looking down Frederick Street from George Street, with the Firth of Forth and Fife beyond. It was designed by William Henry Playfair and built in 1827-1828 as part of Edinburgh's New Town. It was sold by the Church of Scotland in 2014 and there were plans were to create 'A Dance House for Scotland' and a world class theatre in the round. I wonder if that will now ever happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.