Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Red Deer Fawn

It was lovely to have sunshine streaming through the windows as I got up this morning.  After a very grey and wet week, it was a change, not that there wasn't a sting in the tail with short periods of rain later in the morning.

I got out early for a walk and came across a red deer hind and her fawn at the edge of a field.  Of course I got spotted almost immediately, but on this occasion I got close enough for this image because of the fawn's reticence to jump the fence you can see here.  Instead the hind re-entered the field and led it off in another direction.

Later in the day I took a walk up to the local high street and was bitterly disappointed by some people's behaviour, with little respect for social distancing.  Worse, in the local ASDA I was confronted by two staff standing less than 1 metre apart with no PPE, blocking my exit from the self checkouts.  When I pointed out the basics of social distancing it was as though I was speaking a foreign language, though they did part to allow a safe exit.  I don't think I will be making any further visits to that store.

Day Miles:  4.6 miles. Total Miles: 876.5 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.