Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

The Needle and The Damage Done

...a little part of it in everyone.

But every junkie's like a setting sun...

(Neil Young)

(Inspiration)

(Cover version every bit as hauntingly beautiful here)

I like this song; it's a reminder that those with addiction issues are people first and always, no matter how their sickness has twisted their existence. All too easy to forget in the chaos such addictions cause.

I should reassure the squeamish that this isn't blood, neither mine nor anyone else's. It's (non-permanent) ink, the kind I'm not able to use for work.

This was supposed to be an easy blip; put on the macro lens attachment, fill up a syringe with ink, squirt some on hand, get shot, post.

Half an hour!

Half an hour of trying to position needle, drops, hand and camera...and that's not counting the 20 minutes of hand-scrubbing I've had to do to get the (surprisingly tenacious) ink off my left hand. How is it that any hint of moisture washes it off paper and I've still got a couple of (mercifully faint) zebra stripes across my left hand?

Vexing!

Still, I think the image is worth it...what do you think?

Right, I'm off to watch those 2 videos again whilst soaking my hand...enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.