Far for the madding crowd

The past few weekends have seen increased number of people coming up to camp alongside Loch Tummell and leaving behind mountains of rubbish when they depart. It seems to be even worse this weekend with reports of people driving into fields with livestock to camp, and trying to camp in people's garden and one group bringing a marque and generators. It seems to be happening elsewhere. Clearly action needs to be taken but I hope in finding a way forward the right to wild-camp when done responsibly isn't taken away.  

I stayed close to home and headed to Black Spout Wood for my walk, crossing both the Kinnaird Burn and Black Spout itself for a walk on the far side. The only other living creatures I encountered were one roes deer, bolting in the distance, and two red squirrels, one of whom paused for a few moments whilst climbing a tree to watch me watching it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.