Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Australian native

This is a Banksia Ericifolia, a native shrub only found in some parts of the east coast of New South Wales. It was one of the original Banksia species collected by Joseph Banks and Dr Daniel Solander around Botany Bay in 1770. They were the naturalists on the 'Endeavour' for Captain James Cook's first voyage to the Pacific Ocean.

I was surprised to see the Banksia flower in one of the gardens I walked past on my morning walk today. Perhaps it's because I am usually looking at the golf course when I walk past this garden. Banksias usually flower in three of our seasons with winter being the odd one out. We're having a mild-ish winter for the Southern Highlands so I guess the Banksia thinks it's spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.