Bespoke handle

During lockdown the part of my coffee machine that holds the coffee basket broke.

The handle separated from the metal holder part. I tried various glues but it wasn't a good fix. I've nursed it carefully so I could still get my coffee fix.

A replacement part costs silly-$s. Last week I took it to the Menz Shed and asked it they could sure up the cracked original handle and reattach it to the holder. I didn't care what it looked like.

They've done better than that. I now have a bespoke, turned wooden handle. No one is quite sure what the wood is. It's very hard and possibly Matai or an Australian hardwood.

A fancy epoxy resin was used to bind the wood to the metal. The wood is covered in a special hard oil.

It's a pleasure to use. No more movement and hoping that the handle doesn't fall apart. It's a work of art and there isn't another like it.

Today's gratitude: For the warmth of the sun on my back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.