Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Ringlet #14

Seeing that today was due to be a nice day, we decided on an early visit to Brockholes nature reserve. We don’t normally go out at the weekend on account of the increase in people around, but this morning was OK, although by the time we were leaving at around midday, it was very busy, especially on the children’s play area. I don’t get why parents would let their kids play in such a crowded area, given the current circumstances. 

Anyway, we kept well away from people and had a lovely walk chasing insects and butterflies. I was hoping for some good shots of dragonflies, but they just didn’t settle today at all. Until we got back to the car park, the banded demoiselle in extras was going to be my blip, but I spotted this Ringlet on a patch of wildflowers whilst hubby was paying for parking. I don’t recall seeing a Ringlet before, so I was thrilled to see this one, even though it’s not one of our flashy colourful species. 

Once home, we had a couple of hours in the garden until we got too hot and since then have just been relaxing. Tomorrow there are rain showers forecast, so I guess it will be a day of jobs ahead, but the rest of the week is looking OK so far. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.