Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Mini Mink

Walking along the beach this morning, the geese began hissing - loudly. I knew that they did not care about me, so looked around for what was bothering them. It was this baby mink.  One look at I realized that something was wrong. 

It had a fresh wound on its left rear leg so was slowly making its way back to where its den is.  I know that there is a mother mink with three little ones, so I suspect that this is one of them. It stopped along the way several times to get a drink of water, once found a morsel of food that it ate, and came and stood on my foot several times, looking up at me.  I so desperately wanted to scoop it up and try to help it.  Who could resist that sweet face?

However, I also know what vicious killers minks are and how sharp those teeth are! Best I could do was fend off the swans and geese on its journey back home so at least it would have a chance of healing. In Hopefully... In extras, is a photo of it stopping for a drink and another after it ate a morsel of food and paused for a bit before continuing its trek.

On a positive note, we are now getting rain....lots of it. Yay!!  Starting to see a little bit of green again.  It is coming in the form of thunderstorms though. Makes it a little bit more exciting  ;)

Hope you had a great weekend!

Take care.
D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.