thatcatlady

By ThatCatLady

Time

I'm terrible for procrastinating! 

Today's entry was in the back of my mind all day but I wasn't sure what I was going to shoot.  It got to 11pm and I resorted to looking at stuff on my desk wondering what on earth I was going to photograph and upload today... :D

I've had this hourglass on my desk for a few months now.  I bought it as a prop for one of my final uni projects which ended up going off in a slightly different direction so it was never used.  

It clicked that this would be a perfect subject for today's image, given that I was running out of time to make something!  

On its own, and with the lights on it looked very boring so I decided to play around with a few different lights, before settling on light painting with this fibre optic wand which worked really well for some "magic sand" as I could create some thin strands of light with it.  

As it's a long exposure, I needed a tripod but I'd left it in my car and didn't want to disturb the rest of the house.  I had to use a stack of books instead!

I'm actually quite pleased with the idea and I think I might try to do a better version, using a tripod next time so I have an extra free hand and more freedom to compose.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.