One click at a time

By KeithKnight

February Daily Challenge - Life Goal

Day 5 of KaliBug's February daily challenge - Feb. 5th: A life goal, and close to failure for MissyMoo's February daily challenge (Something you smelled: What's something you came across today that smelled {or smelt depending on where you live}. Take a photo of it.).

At my stage of life (I take being called middle-aged as a compliment) you would expect to have achieved most of your life goals, or at least to be living them out now. I have spent most of my working life working with great people who have almost always been a pleasure to work with. Things have changed over the years, efficiencies have been demanded and new technologies have enabled them. 25 years ago, when I was working in South Wales, it took a crew of 8 people to get one TV channel to air (just playing out the programmes, not crewing the studios), now this area is playing out around 60 channels with a crew of between 6 and 8 people, with up to 16 channels being looked after by one person, and much higher standards of reliability being demanded into the bargain. Still, great people to work with, and can you ask for more, enjoyable work, which keeps you young and good people to work with.

The link to MissyMoo's challenge? I have a cold and no sense of smell today, but judging by the lack of people in this shot maybe my best friend should be telling me something. I did shower - honestly! Maybe I should have just gone with a blank picture to show that I smelt (smelled) nothing.

For those who are interested, I took this shot to go into a presentation that is being made on Friday. I used my Sigma 10-20mm lens which is designed for a smaller DX sensor on my D700 with the larger FX sensor. It was then cropped to get rid of the Image Circle that was very evident - and also why the edges are a bit on the dark side. An easy way to get a very wide shot - as all the pictures on the screens were moving and changing, a stitched panorama wouldn't work, the software wouldn't know what it had to join to what as most of the picture would have changed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.