BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

When 10 = 6

Hello Sweetie Pie. Still here?
Me too. I arrived 
over ten years ago, June 10th

2010 to be precise. Pre Brexit.
Pre Trump becoming Mr Shit-
President. It was before #MeToo 

spread like a virus across
social media. It was before
black lives mattered. It was

before the ice bucket challenge
(no, I did not take part)
and, of course, it was well before 

Covid19 and lockdown and self-isolating
(I did take part in that)
and before going for an illegal drive

to test your eyesight was accepted as
a valid reason for…but I digress.
Regardless of its joy and beauty

the world’s always partly in a mess
and would have been in 2010 when 
I discovered Blipfoto.

What was going on globally I can’t recall.
As for my personal life, well mine
wasn’t great, so blip was a lifeline

that I clung to and have hung on to
- but not every day. It appears I’ve lost
four years along the way: my 2,190 blips 

equals 6 years, not ten. But ten
years have definitely been and gone
and I’ve done some blipping in every one.


Many thanks to all who still view my blips
and comment and give stars and hearts
and don’t mind the gaps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.