Rosey Wolfsnail

While puttering in the yard early this morn, I came upon this wondrous Florida Tree Snail Rosey Wolfsnail. (Thanks to Camaeleo for correcting my initial ID) She was happily munching away on a lush green plant and paid me no heed. I ran for my camera, which thankfully already wore it's macro lens! I picked her up and placed her on a small branch so that I would be able to move her about to catch bits of available light. She slowly  poked her head out of her shell when she realized that to eat her was not my intention. She is no doubt an 'Elder' in her snail community, considering how large she was. Her shell was 2 inches long and her body extended out another 1.5 inches. (see the * extra) After her 'photo shoot', I deposited her back where I originally found her. What a great morning! Now Fletcher, Tara and I are off to the DogPark. :)

For more info on this interesting carnivorous Florida native snail: 
Fast, for a snail!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.