Our 47th Wedding Anniversary today.

It rained on our wedding day, 
We were married at our local Parish Church St. Mary's Rawtenstall, Rossendale, Lancashire two weeks after Stephen's Graduation from Cambridge University. 
I was in my 3rd year of teaching in a local primary school. 
We got engaged when he was 18 years old and in his first year at University studying Law. I was 22 years old. 
I guess that seems crazy these days!    
At the Reception later, the sun just about shone enough for all the photos. 
So many memories. 
I had long hair at the time, as it was considered fashionable. (!)
I reverted to it being short 12 months later! 
We are going out this evening to our local pub, for a meal. . 
It will be interesting to see how it is organised with all the restrictions. 
And my Anniversary gift to him is a 1000 piece jigsaw of a painting of a Parisian scene. It is Bastille Day in France today. 
Two years ago as a 70th birthday present, (although my birthday is in February,) Stephen booked us two First class tickets on Eurostar to Paris for the Bastille Day celebrations. 
It was an absolutely spectacular evening on that date, being on the banks of the Seine with thousands of others watching the fireworks begin on the Eiffel Tower, before exploding into the sky all around.
  
 
 
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.