littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Kintsugi

You know that question in interviews, if your house was on fire what would you rescue..
well, these plates would be high on my list.
Growing up we lived next door to a lovely Japanese family and when they left in 1986, they gave me three Noritake bone china plates . They’ve had pride of place in every home I’ve lived in and I just smile when I see them, I love them. A lot.
So, imagine my face when all three got unceremoniously smashed a few weeks ago during some drunken antics involving the large clock above them. N Clumsily put the clock back up again, which immediately fell down taking my plates with them.
This was Strike 1 for N who also was the perpetrator of Weedgate two weeks ago. Strike 2
So after a lot of tears and searching in vain to replace them on t’internet. I decided to man up and try to repair them myself.
I’ve always liked the Japanese concept of kintsugi. Which is the art of repairing something with gold lacquer and that the object is more beautiful for having being broken.
Seven hours have been spent repairing all three plates. Unlike most Japanese pass times, I did NOT feel very zen at all, and the word f*** twinned with his pal OFF we’re used every five minutes. It is not easy!! It’s messy, it’s frustrating but hopefully when all is dry tomorrow and cleaned up, I’ll have three lovely plates again.

Any more strikes, and there may be a certain person in need of some kintsugi himself.

Not forgiven!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.