Cailleach

By Cailleach

Crumbing down,.....

It's difficult to know whether Covid has sent people mad, or whether they were completely barking before, but here, for your consideration, is 'weird conversation in pharmacy',  no.23415.........

Middle aged woman (who looked completely normal):  'Hello, can you point me in the direction of your Ruskoline please?'

Me (a middle aged woman wondering why I always get the weird ones): 'Ruskoline? Ruskoline?'

Middle aged woman (irritably): 'Yes, that's what I said. Ruskoline. Orange stuff. Ruskoline!'

Me (trying to move the conversation on a bit): 'You mean.....Ruskoline?'

Middle aged woman (even more irritably): 'Yes! Ruskoline!! I've tried Tesco and Sainsbury, so now I'm trying you. I don't know why I didn't think of you in the first place.'

Me (fighting the urge to ask if she'd mistaken the word 'pharmacy' for 'phishmonger'): 'Well it's not really something chemists tend to sell.'

Middle aged woman (looking amazed): 'But I've bought it here before, although sometimes I have to settle for the purple version.'

Me (wondering if she'd been sniffing too much hand gel): 'You coat your fish in purple crumbs?'

Middle aged woman (having the cheek to look at me as though I was the mad one): 'Fish? Fish? What fish?' She frowned slighly.  'Oh wait - I don't mean Ruskoline, do I. What do I mean?  Mouthwash.......orange.......Listerine!!!!'


You know, the one advantage of wearing a mask at work, is that you can mouth all sorts of things at people, and they will never, ever realise.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.