WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Potato bread

Today I made potato rolls as taught to me by Eric two years ago, having found a neglected sachet of freeze-dried potato flakes bought for exactly this purpose. The recipe is very easy and makes lovely light airy rolls. We tested them with ham and tomato sandwiches. Served with excellent rosé; our neighbours, deprived of their usual outlets, are doing an unbeatable price of two euros a bottle if you buy two dozen. It would be rude not to partake.

Earlier I did a click and collect supermarket shop, my first since we've been back. This service has become markedly more popular; there never used to be any customers waiting, but today I rolled up just a minute after friends S and T, recent converts. And someone else was waiting when I left. I also bought fruit, veg, ham and chicken from the local producers' coop and took the disgustingly filthy red car to the car wash. When I got back S knocked up a rather excellent chicken salad from my purchases, featuring ribbons of raw courgette, avocado, tomato, and quickly fried strips of chicken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.