Smothered Pork Chop

Smothered pork chop, green beans, and harissa carrot salad. Wine: Rusack Boundless Mission 2019.

I improvised some smothered pork chops, and they were fantastic. I smothered the chops with maui onion and sweet peppers, but two stars in the seasoning were urfa chili for some heat and grape musk syrup to bind everything together and add a touch of sweetness.

The wine is very nice and I wish I ordered more than two bottles when I had the chance (only 36 cases were made). It is made from mission grapes grown on the Rusack estate. The vines were grown from cuttings taken from the site of a former Spanish mission vineyard on Santa Cruz Island. It is a light, easy drinking red with cranberry notes. It is sort of like a light Gamay without the funkier notes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.