Exterminator

C and I don't use pesticides (or any poisons actually) in our home or yard. We use 'mechanical' methods of dealing with uninvited insects. Oh, and we also depend on our friends the birds and reptiles to do their parts in our battle against the bugs. This morning I watched as a life and death drama played out on our back patio. A female Brown Anole ran out from cover to snag a roach. The roach put up quite a fight! Since I had my longest lens in my hands I was able to watch as the anole fought her soon-to-be meal. It took a lot of energy and strength, evidenced by her hard breathing, yes I saw her little chest area heaving as she gulped in breaths! Talk about being in the right place at the right time...she and I both were that! Team Anole is packing in those proteins in preparation of the upcoming AOGs!
Earlier this morning at the DogPark...we had a big storm last night with lots of thunder, lightening and rain. The storm triggered the Southern Toads to rush back into the ponds at the Park, anxious to do what Nature dictates. Take a look at the *extras...larger female Southern Toad with her throat sac filled with air, calling the males, male Toads having heard her call line up to do her bidding. A female with two male toads in a very serious embrace! This 'sport' will most likely not be part of the 2020 AOGS, at least I hope  not!
Whew! And this doesn't even include the Hummingbird and Bee photos I took as well! What a morning! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.