Hawk Eyes

My 100-400mm lens croaked this morning so I immediately sent it off to the firm which repaired it slightly less than six months ago as it should still be under guarantee. I do feel as though I've lost a limb without it, especially as I have lent my Mk 1 to my daughter.

We went to Fishers Green and I was wielding my 100mm macro near the car park when a I spotted someone from Coda Falconry with a Harris Hawk. I asked if I could take some pics and was prepared to put Ollie in the car but the guy said that the bird is fine with dogs. 

The young hawk's name is Vega. I immediately thought of the star and of Suzanne Vega. That reminded me of playing Tom's Diner as we sailed between Ithaca and Cephalonia when we took my youngest sister on a flotilla holiday with us in the 80s. She's not much older than my children. 

When I got home I listened to the song on YouTube. I was amazed when I saw that the official vid features a hawk very similar to Vega! I also read that the name of the star is believed to be derived from the Arabic term Al Nesr al Waki النسر الواقع which appeared in the Al Achsasi al Mouakket star catalogue and was translated into Latin as Vultur Cadens, "the falling eagle/vulture". I love serendipity like this. I'm guessing that the falconry people chose the name Vega after the gaming character. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.