Farmaticus

By TBay

Borage.

I decided this year to grow some borage as I really fancy the idea of these stunning little flowers in my salads and drinks. I now have quite a few flowers and can declare the whole idea a success! No only are they pretty but they have rather a nice delicate cucumber flavour to them. I also picked my first cucumber , and then threw it away!! Unlike my borage flowers it  did not taste good, with a well knows bitterness to it.  :-( I looked up as to why this should be , as all varieties ( or should I say most) are now all female flowers which has improved the chances of bitter cucumbers . A list as long as your arm appeared stating the reasons they could have become bitter. Weather , stress, too hot, too cold, too wet and too dry but to name a few. I have therefore decided not to bother next year!!

Farming - Two on compost. Mr Tbay Jnr raking.

For me ironing. I have at long last caught up and currently have nothing to iron!! Mr Tbay was busy with office work, YFC matters and mowing. Sounds just like before lockdown!!

The Mr Tbays ventured out for the first time in four months to the pub to see how the social distancing would work. It did and they had a pint or two sitting outside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.