Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Count

The Small Skippers were the most abundant species today, on this first day of the annual Big Butterfly Count. Unfortunately they don't make this year's id sheet, which as an entry level activity is simplified to some of the more nationally common and larger butterflies. It's the activity that got me into butterfly recording and has been all over mainstream and social media over the past 24 hours, so hopefully lots of people will get involved.

I just popped out for a mooch around Moorside at the end of my work day, but will hopefully get a few more extended walks in over the next nine days as I've taken next week off. I had leave to use before the end of the month and had been holding off for nicer weather. It would have been the start of the kid's school holidays today, but the way things are now I think they will spend the summer itching to get back

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.