PICKING BLUEBERRIES ON SILLY SATURDAY

Hi there Blippers,

When I heard Mr. HCB telling Mrs. HCB that he was going to pick some of his luscious blueberries this morning, I decided that I would get out there before him and pick a few myself.  I crept down the stairs quietly very early and hoped that I would beat Mr. HCB into the garden, and I did!

However, I wasn’t quiet enough, because two of my friends decided that they wanted to come too.  I wasn’t too pleased about this, but just in case they made a fuss, I decided to let them come.

So off we went - and what a job we had getting into the blueberry cage.  Mr. HCB has put horrible netting all the way round - to keep the birds off, I think, but as I am quite clever, it didn’t fool me and I quickly found a way in and climbed up the bush.  I will admit, I did sample one or two blueberries on the way up and I'm sure the others did too and I must say, they were delicious!

Being the biggest and the instigator of this, I decided to climb right to the top of the bush and left the others to fend for themselves - well you can’t keep hanging back when there’s work to be done, can you?

We were just getting into our stride of picking when who should appear but Mrs. HCB - I knew she would be trouble and would be able to provide evidence of us stealing picking the blueberries, should Mr. HCB wonder what had happened to them.  However, she only stayed long enough to take a few shots with her phone camera and then went back indoors.  I think the gloomy weather ensured that she didn’t stay out for long and I know Mr. HCB did a lot of manual work yesterday, so he was nowhere to be found - he’s probably resting today - at least that’s what I heard him say to Mrs. HCB - unusual for him to be so sensible!

So now the blueberries are picked and I just hope that I can get the stain off the front of my jumper before the HCBs see it!  I must keep an eye on the blackberries too, because they should be ripe for picking in a few weeks.  Have a great weekend everyone and stay safe.  

Love to you all JH Ted xx 

P.S.  I know that dear Admirer isn’t around to judge the Silly Saturday entries now, but I’m sure she would love this shot of me and my friends picking blueberries, so this is in her honour.

Advice from a Blueberry:
Be well-rounded
Soak up the sun
Live a fruitful life
It’s OK to be a little blue
Make sweet memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.