Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

I knew I had one somewhere!

I'm back into research for the West Coast Motors book. The Skye book that I've produced (but not written) goes to the printers next week so off we go again....

There is not a lot of knowledge about how the arrangement worked at Tarbert between MacBraynes/West Coast Motors and eventually Western SMT and West Coast Motors Campbeltown operations.  There are very few - if any - pics of WSMT or MacB buses on service in Campbeltown so it's assumed they all turned back at Tarbert.  We know they had a ticket transfer system and I knew I had a ticket somewhere.  I found it today. 

An octogenarian transport historian friend who was the doctor in Campbeltown in the 60's tells me he recalls a 5am early morning layover for one MacBraynes vehicle because the driver lived there.  It ran up to Tarbert for the first Glasgow connection of the day.  There is no photographic evidence that I know of.  It raises an intriguing question.  Did the bus run with passengers to Tarbert?  I doubt West Coast would have approved of a licence application by the 'enemy' .

Isn't this fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.