Meet the New Baby Bunnies!

I was very excited on Thursday night to meet the nest of new baby bunnies living in Gremlin's Meadow. I found five baby bunnies, all in a pile, when I went out to move the hummingbird feeder up onto the deck. I went back indoors for the camera, but the bunnies disappeared before I could get any pictures.

So I got the idea that this might be a nightly thing, the gathering of the Gremlin's Meadow Five, as we might begin to think of them. And around dusk on Friday night, out I went to see, and this time, I took along my camera.

And what I found was this: a rather large bun was sitting right at the front of the meadow. And when she hopped away, what was left on the spot where she had been sitting was a pile of FIVE BABY BUNNIES, which you may see above!

So what has been happening is that I've been arriving on the scene and interrupting the evening snack for this tiny little adorable family. The babies all gather under the mother to eat, and when she leaves, there they sit.

The light was not really great, but I took as many photos as I could. The tiny bunny furthest to the left suddenly went - POP! - and it hopped into the air, landed, and disappeared into the grass, leaving four bunnies behind. Three more bunnies popped, leaving one tiny bunny to scurry away.

I have to admit I was laughing, but quietly, so as not to scare anybunny. Now, there may be cuter and more delightful things in this world than a whole nest of tiny baby bunnies. But you would have to work hard to convince me of what that might be. :-)

The soundtrack song for this group of little ones is Lynyrd Skynyrd with I Know a Little. For I am lucky. I know not just ONE little, but FIVE!!! 

P.S. On this afternoon, the groundhog left its spot under the front porch, and while it was out, my husband and I blocked the entrance hole under the porch with a small metal sign, a rather large brick, and several containers of gravel piled on top of all of that. So the groundhog is still around somewhere, but it is no longer residing under our porch! Hooray!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.