Pubs

I went to Liverpool University because they'd give me a place, Bob went there because he loves the football club. In the thirty-five or so years I've known him, football has always been his priority. I remember him being anxious about the date of my wedding in case it clashed with a match. He wasn't worried about missing the football, he was worried about missing me getting married. 

He's in Kirkby Lonsdale for three nights, this week, and tonight there's a match on. However, the pubs that show the football in the town are both still closed. A few days ago, Dan and I went out for a drive to find somewhere that was showing the football. I thought Ingleton was a dead cert but no. In the end, we found a place in High Bentham.

So tonight I met Bob and his two boys in the Royal Barn. I was pleased to see that the cellophane was indeed just a placeholder while they waited for the glass; it looks great now, as you can see. 

I drove them down to The Coach House in High Bentham, which is the pub that Dan and I had found. The food there was good: the football, less so. I couldn't really share their disappointment but I did feel for Bob and his boys. 

****
-12.5 kgs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.