Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Despite my best efforts today....

I have only managed a shot of a Large White Butterfly on a flower that I don't know the name of.

We walked around Dartington Estate this morning. It was cold and very breezy. The chilly conditions didn't deter Jorgie who was constantly in and out of the water.

A kingfisher shot along the river twice but, as usual too fast for my trigger finger.
The deer, although visible, were too far away for anything interesting, as was the pair of Green Woodpeckers we watched in the field next to the carpark. A kindly motorist informed me that one had been sat 'next to his parked car for the last 5 minutes' just seconds before.  Grrr!
(I did get some shots of one of them but it's too great a crop to be useful even with copious amounts of editing)
The day was starting to feel like the one that got away.

To compensate we stopped off at Hill House Nursery on the way home.
The cafe has reopened so we just had to have a huge slice of cake each.
By this time the sun had come out so we sat in their garden surrounded by the wonderful plants all buzzing with bees and butterflies.
Sadly the latter were all of the white variety but at least the bright flower makes the image more eye catching.
Also white with stunning yellow centres, was the 2m tall Californian Tree Poppy. (Romneya Coulteri) These flowers are as big as dinner plates.
Ive put a shot in extras because it's not a plant I see often and it's up there in my top ten favourite flowers. Apparently it's difficult to propagate, grow from seed, or flourish in our climate so Ive no hope of ever having one in my garden.
Oh well I can always admire theirs over another slice of cake and a cuppa.
:-D) 

Day total 3.8 miles
Year total 532.7 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.