Picture Consequences

By consequences

Making connections

Luckily the corridor was clear.

As a result, nobody saw me sprawled against the wall, panting and trembling like a maniac, trying to keep my balance while taking in my new surroundings as quickly as I could.

I pushed at the first door I came to, about halfway down the corridor.

Unlocked, it opened easily - and I found myelf in the dark. Feeling along the wall, I found the light switch; after flicking it on, I discovered I was in a very small room full of electrical gear and what looked like computer networking cables. Some kind of comms room, it seemed.

It had that cooled, air-conditioned feel to it, which turned my nervous trembling into a chilly shivering.

As I caught my breath, it occurred to me that there could have been anything behind the door - a roomful of security guards, or the staff canteen perhaps. I could so easily have found myself in the fire, after escaping the frying pan. But so far, luck seemed to be on my side.

For the time being, I felt relatively safe. But I couldn't afford to stay here for long, I knew that - not if I was going to find out what had happened to me.

What was it Kate had said? Head for the containment area - just follow the signs, and you won't miss it. Once you're in, you shouldn't be challenged. Just keep your head and act like you're entitled to be there. They'll just think you're another pointless suit. No offence.

None taken, I'd told her. At the time, I'd imagined it wouldn't be a problem: you don't get to be a salesman without a bit of front. But now I wasn't so sure. The two guys I'd heard talking had sounded more like soldiers than security guards.

Suddenly I felt completely out of my depth.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.