earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Hangingstone Rainbow

I was doing the washing-up when I spotted this rainbow, as bright and vivid as I'd ever seen one from home. Roam was on the phone dealing with some paperwork around his van, having to sort it out before he could leave. I dashed out with the camera, hoping I could get up to the moor before the rainbow disappeared. It seemed unlikely but I managed to get all the way up to Hangingstone Quarry to get the shot I ultimately wanted. 

It felt like an omen.

Later, results in the Championship meant that Leeds United was officially promoted to the Premiership. I had Roam on the phone thanking me for taking him to that propitious first game at Elland Road when he was six years old. He was so happy. He said the feeling was worth the last 16 years of shit! For most of that time, I've been feeling responsible for all the anguish the club has put him through. I'm not sure I've got the same payback as he did today. Vicarious pain is more heartfelt than vicarious pleasure.

A happy day nonetheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.