Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Weight loss journey 19072020 progress report

Weekly progress report: another small gain but since start of lockdown weight has only increased by 1.2 lb.
Starting weight (25 May 2018 = 273lb)
Today’s weight = 192.2 lb
Average weight last week = 191.5 lb
Average weight this week = 192.0 lb
Weight gain this week= +0.5 lb
Note: I weigh every day first thing and calculate weight loss based on average weight for the week.

Week 17 of the lockdown and it’s the third week in a row that I have not achieved the week’s goal of standstill or small loss set the previous three Sundays: I again gained weight (0.5 lb). I can’t blame it on the weather as it’s not been too bad with not enough rain to curtail my outdoor activity. I can’t blame it on the new potatoes as these were avoided.
Before I got depressed about the gain I decided to look at changes in my weight during the lockdown period and am pleased to report that the change in my weight since 22nd March is a gain of just over one pound (+1.2 lb). This in itself is quite an achievement since the lockdown has precluded the Peak gym and fitness classes which have been the main energy expenditure component of my lifestyle for the last 2 years. In addition, the lockdown presents one with more temptations in the form of treats and empty calories especially if your bored or not fully occupied.

I have to thank the dry weather we’ve had during the lockdown and the allotments which have been my substitute for the Peak. They have never looked better with me there “working” every day and without them I dread to think how much weight I would have gained. As well as providing me with exercise, the allotments are fuelling my high vegetable, low white carbohydrate diet.

So much is being produced that I can’t give it all away to family and friends and have started to donate some to the local food hub. At the present time there is an excess of courgettes, peas, beans and soft fruit. Each night at the moment my main meal features courgettes, pod peas, beans (Broad, French and Runner) and beet. This is followed by mixed berries (black&red currants, gooseberries and strawberries) topped with oatbran and Greek yogurt. Believe it or not I now really enjoy courgettes and look forward to them in my evening meals served spiralised as a pasta substitute.

In terms of weight I must stop this three week weight increase trend and again set a goal of standstill or small weight loss in the coming week. I must do my utmost to achieve this goal. If I don’t snack after my evening meal I should be able to achieve this.
I hope you all have had a good week and that you are keeping safe and fit in these uncertain times. I also hope that the lockdown and the easing of it is not having too much of a detrimental effect on your scales. Keep positive and safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.