The finish line (and the starting point)

Today, bang on deadline, two years after I started writing it, I crossed the finish line with my novel. 128,000 words (a proportion of which will have to be culled when I edit it) and a huge sigh of relief that I managed to knit all the threads together and find the right words for that important final sentence.

The focus of my blip, to mark the occasion, is the inspiration for this work. In his book written during WW2, Richard Hillary wrote a haunting account of his generation's involvement in the war while he was recovering from disfiguring injuries after his Spitfire was shot down. His writing is incredibly moving, and even more so because this tragic young man did not survive the war. 

My story is not set in war time, but my character is one of The Few in his own way. I hope I've done justice to the subject matter, and of course this is far from the end really, as revision and more in-depth verification of my research are going to keep me plenty busy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.