ferryoons

By ferryoons

Molehill already a mountain

Murdo McMole has been coming for us for weeks. He approached sneakily from our neighbour's land, along the edge of the barley field. Into our garden, he stayed parallel with the field edge then turned sharp right at the red hot pokers and gently meandered towards us, zigzagging either side of the flower bed.

When he got to Rabbie's wall (see Blip, 9th May) he abandoned stealth and came straight for us. Eight molehills in a straight line, getting bigger each time (we must have some very fine worms under there), heading for the courgette plants,

I had to clear them away before I could cut the grass. The twenty or so I cleared last week were pigmies compared to these. The spade went in again. Again. Again. When I had finished I needed the sack trolley to shift the soil away (see extra). Still, it's wonderful stuff for potting plants out.

PS I mowed round the flowers from yesterday, to keep the bees fed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.