The Daily Record

By havohej

Coroner R. I. P.

Coroner 'R. I. P.' (Cobra, 1987)

Interesting fact; there are no Coroners in Scotland. Investigations into deaths are instead carried out by the Procurator Fiscal. You learn something new every day, eh?

Coroner started off as roadies for Celtic Frost and even featured the mighty Tom G. Warrior on vocals on their 'Death Cult' demo. 'R. I.P.' is Coroner's debut and there are hints of da Frosties, not least on the title track, but Coroner are a far more technical beast.

Tommy Vance was a great champion of Coroner and 'Punishment for Decadence' was one of the five or so albums my dad specially ordered in to his local record shop in Poulton Le Fylde for my 15th birthday. We all got into 'The Masked Jackal' and their cover of 'Purple Haze' but then my tape went missing and accusations flew. Pringle said it was Ed brown who had nicked it and Ed said it was Pringle. I sided with Ed Brown at the time, but I reckon Pringle was almost certainly telling the truth. As it was, I never heard that album again and the band slipped off my radar as they got more and more technical and further recognised as the 'Rush of thrash'.

Nevertheless I have always loved their logo and the cover to 'R. I. P.' so I jumped at the chance to pick up this Canadian version of the Noise classic for a measly £2.99. 'R. I. P.' is a great listen, but I wouldn't hail it as a classic.

They reformed recently and I have watched them once. After being bored to tears by their endless noodlings I avoided them when I next encountered their name on a bill. I really can't understand how they and Voivod can headline at Roadburn but it seems that atonal fret wankery is all the rage with stoners nowadays!

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.