Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Requested lockdown Day 3

Back blip

I decided I’d like to cook Indian food for Sunday lunch - not the easiest as it's not always possible to get all the spices, seeds etc.  Anyway, yesterday, before our main supermarket shop we went to a grain/seed shop nearby and managed to get more or less what we needed.  

So, I got out our trusted old Madhur Jeffrey cookbook and then spent more time than I usually spend in the kitchen putting our Sunday lunch together. Our menu was a whole chicken marinaded in various spices for two hours, then rubbed in a paste of other spices - too many ingredients to go into here!  Side dishes of raita, potatoes in pepper, a carrot salad and a tomato, onion and fresh coriander dish. All the dishes from the same book.  Bb gave it 9 out of 10 and I gave it a bit less, as I realised too late that I like my Indian dishes to have tomatoes in them. Now that we have a base stock of ingredients, there's no stopping us!   If we can't travel at the moment, at least we can eat food from different countries!  It was actually nice to be doing something that didn't involve a screen and be able to listen to music at the same time. Next time, I might attempt naan breads too, but it was a step too far today!

A present arrived in the post yesterday from a blipper and friend in Scotland, which we now know is a book.  Much appreciated and so lovely to receive something that isn't a bill. With another lockdown upon us, it was especially nice to receive it. Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.