The second half of life..

By twigs

A step in the right direction

Fence builders arrived early then I headed to town for another chiropractic appointment.  I still have a pain in my butt when I move a certain way, sometimes when I try to stand up too quickly or when I pivot to change direction, but on the whole things are improving well.  Arriving at the appointment early enough to indulge in a 5 minute hanging-[almost]-upside-down was a much appreciated bonus.

The other bonus was driving the other half of the journey to the Boulder Bank to see what was going on.  So glad I did!  The tide was very high.....only about 45 minutes past high - so I was curious to see what the kingfishers did with the water so high.  I hadn't been pulled over along the driveway 2 minutes before I watched one fly out from a tree, head over the water about 30 metres, dive beak first into the shallow water and emerge with a fish.  Wow!  That gave me the thrill of the possibility of me capturing it.....

I had to wait some time before another bird was within cooee to photograph and whilst I saw a number of them, it was only this one I managed to snap.  Believe me when I say he was a l-o-n-g way away and the image is v-e-r-y heavily cropped, but I now have more information about their behaviour to add to my growing library.  Next time I head out there on or about high tide I'll be sure to pack a lot more patience in my camera bag, and I think I'll need a couple of hours of simply sitting and waiting.

Fence had a bit of a set-back today.  The 'boss' came round to check on things and obviously didn't think Jazz and Simon (the builders) progress was up to scratch so they had to dig out the posts they'd put in yesterday and start again.  I did feel bad for them but they just seemed to take it in their stride.  

In COVID news today, one more case has been identified in a managed isolation facility.  No recoveries today so the active case total climbs to 27.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.