Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Stalk

I found myself stalking the stalker, although to be fair it didn't take much care on my part as this heron was so engrossed in its activity that it paid little attention to me on the other side of the canal.

I'd chosen today to head down into Shipley to look for Marbled White butteflies in the urban meadow behind the station. Unfortuntely my timing was off again - there were sunny spells this morning and again this evening, but all afternoon there was a heavy overcast sky and of course that is the time I was out. Still, I did a few circuits of the field and found a few Meadow Brown, Small Skipper, Ringlet, one Peacock and a Narrow-bordered 5-spot. I may be too late in the year for Marbled White now anyway.

I walked back along the canal, and popped into the nature reserve before coming back up the hill but it was too cool for any dragonfly activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.