Lochan na h-Earba

I finished at the desk early today and went to Lochan na h-Earba on the bike. The phone app said it wad the longest ride so far and I had burned about 1400 calories.
Shortly after this photo I bumped into a guy returning to pack up his tent after doing the three Ardverikie Munros to the south. From Dunfermline, he is aformer construction manager with a Perth based contractor and it turns out we have serveral mutual aquaintances.
There is a funny thing about the whole construction sphere. perhaps exacerbated by the aggresive commercial environment, often having to deal with folk with views counter to your own and a management structure that puts workers under constant and unreasonable pressure:

The colourful language.

This gentleman, and he was an absolute gentelman, smart, tidy, articulate very polite and friendly, started reflecting on a construction project -that I actually knew about and he was at once back reliving the moment with the usual colourful construction "terminology". "We lost a **** fortune on that one". I was not offended because it goes with the territory but he briefly chastised himself and again grasped the realisation he no longer lives that life, now enjoying retirement.

I have been to Lochan na h-Earba without Mrs SJR before but I don't think ever without a dog. 


    
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.