MOJO Moments

By JackieAnn

Lets all go to the movies!

My first movie in Belgium! Hard to believe, but in the time I have lived here I have yet to go to a movie! Not because I haven't wanted to, but because it can be hard to catch an American film in original version. Once here they may only be here a few days or possibly a week. I've just not been good at timing! I missed Argo, Lincoln, The Help the list goes on!
Not this night I made it to "Les Miserables"!
Which brings me to another first...

I may be the only person in Belgium that had no idea what it was about! Here's what I did know...Victor Hugo finished his grand novel here in Waterloo! We streets named after him, restaurants and cafes!
I truly enjoyed the story of redemption, courage, bravery, love and the comedic break of the inn keepers!
It was fun to watch the movie with a mixed crowd of Americans, French, and Dutch. Since the movie was shown in its original version it was subtitled in both French and Flemish. I brushed up on my French! They also laughed when Russell Crowe started to sing!!!

When the show was over we all clapped! I don't know if this is typical at a movies end or if it was because of this particular movie, but I thought it was sweet!

I've decided I need to go and experience movies more often here after last night. I hear there is a theatre with amazing seats, dinner and bottles of wine all while you watch the show!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.