The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Next Assignment

Painting class this morning. As always I was impressed with my friends’ work. After we critiqued each other’s work, Trish gave us our new assignment. Step one, find a muse, a subject that calls to you. Step two, pick one of the Group of Seven who relates to that subject. Step three, make a design influenced by that artist. Step four, make a painting. We were supposed to do a painting from life but I chose to base mine on one of my photos. So for me - 1) Whatcom Falls; 2) Lauren Harris 3) Made a pencil design (I’m still at this stage.); 4) Ink & watercolor painting. The photos are the reference photo of the falls and a painting called “Waterfall, Algon” by Lauren Harris. The extra is my thumbnail sketch and the real thing. I’m not done with the pencil sketch yet. Then ink. Then watercolor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.