ANOTHER WEDNESDAY WALK

I haven’t seen my friend Sue for quite a while so when we were chatting on the phone after she had seen one of the Blips about “my field” she said that she would love to see me and also go for a walk to see the field I was always talking about.  

We arranged for her to come to our house first and then we walked over to the field, but of course, there was no singing today, as we were chatting too much, but we did make sure we were physically distanced.

You all know how much I love going over there and it’s good to be able to show it to friends too.  It seemed that all the butterflies and bees were out flying and buzzing around and Sue was as thrilled as I was to see them and of course, to see the whole field.  We wandered and chatted, stopped and chatted and then walked some more - and she was pleased to see the huge oak tree too - and even said, “If only trees could talk, what a tale this one would have to tell!”  

We then walked towards the willow tree and there was enough wind blowing for the long branches to move and sway, so again, we stood underneath and just enjoyed the ambiance.  Just by the side of the willow tree is the beautiful garden of a house that borders on the brook, which is where the name of the road on our estate comes from, Overbook.  We could see a couple sitting in the garden, so stopped to tell them how beautiful their garden was and I explained that I always stood under the willow tree and admired their garden.  

They then walked towards the end of their garden, where we were standing and we had a lovely chat with them - I explained that I came over to this field quite a lot and I loved it so much I had brought my friend with me today.  I also told them the story about us living in our house for 38 years and never having found the field - although I did say that I must have found it about four years ago when I had been doing my Street Challenge on Blip and had actually taken a shot of their garden - so of course, then I had to explain about Blip.  They were very interested, so I told them I would print off a copy of that particular date and put it through their front door.  

As we walked back to our house, we saw lots of Convolvulus, otherwise known as bindweed, which Sue says she has in her garden and which, sadly, is strangling her roses.  She asked if I knew the rhyme which says, “Old man, old man, jump out of bed”?  I said I didn’t, so Sue then proceeded to pick one of the flowers, squeezed the base of the flower head, and the flower jumped off, reciting the rhyme while she did it - as I often say, you can learn something every day of your life!  

All in all, a great morning - and then Sue came back for coffee - well, she had tea - and she, Mr. HCB and I all sat in our garden chatting for another hour.  We did remark that we have been so fortunate to have had such wonderful weather during the lockdown and it is so good to be able to share our lovely garden with others, especially someone like Sue who lives on her own.  She does have a dog and two cats, but as she said to me whilst we were walking, “They’re good company, but they don’t answer back!” 

So here we are, physically distanced and enjoying our walk together.  If you think I have "lockdown hair", I do, but I am quite liking it that bit longer, as I was never allowed to have long hair when I was younger, and I even quite like its natural colour which saves me a lot of money!

“If you want to walk fast,
     then go alone,
          but if you want to go far,
               then go together.”
African Proverb

P.S.  Sue is the one who makes wonderful cakes - the one she popped over with last week - so she is Mr. HCB’s friend too!! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.