Bottle brushing the cat

Rather a change in the weather today, drizzly most of the time, but we were expecting it. I put on the waterproofs and went for a walk, round the local streets and up to the Tower.

This red-flowered shrub is Callistemon citrinus 'Splendens', a selection of the south-east Australian crimson bottle brush. It's perfectly hardy here, though nor proof against marauding deer, one of which snapped half the shrub of a month or two ago. I had to stake and tie it up, hence the string. As I clicked the shutter Susie the cat decided to walk by!

Quote of the Day:

Sandy Simpson, Falkirk Herald  – “I can’t remember ever having seen a bottlebrush plant outside a botanical garden or the ornamental gardens of an estate in Scotland.”

He hasn't been to my place obviously!!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.