Self Portrait

It has been an interesting day on a workshop 'The Art of Seeing' lead by Ben Brain. The RPS has many talks and workshops organised and all are useful and great value, with no travelling or other costs. I was late joining today as I wasn't sent the Zoom link in time, but that was an admin error and I was soon up and running.

The first task was to photograph an object, report back and then given a word before returning to photograph the same object with the word in mind. I chose a peacock feather, my word was Zen so I then photographed it to look like a mandala pattern - interesting. (in extras)There was plenty of time for group discussion of everyone's contributions.

Our second task was a self portrait. Right out of comfort zone for most of us (8 in the group). Only half an hour to set up, shoot and send in. Just amazing how we had all approached it in totally different ways.

I love how I'm able to join in on things that I wouldn't do otherwise, challenging my photography and making me look at aspects I would avoid. Do look at w all the RPS is offering. You saying have to be a member but I know I have saved my annual membership fee through all the workshops and talks. There's a special offer on fire joining at the moment.

It's like everything, you get out what you put in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.