A fish out of water

There's always some little drama going on down by the river. If you can sit about long enough you may be privileged to witness it, possibly even participate in it. 
I was sitting on the bank with the crazy idea of capturing a dragonfly in flight. I did have a dragonfly for company but it wasn't in to any aeronautic displays, at least nowhere near enough for my little lens. 
After a bit my attention was caught by a strange movement in the slimy old pond weed that is hugging the riverbank at the moment. Suddenly a little scaly silver tail breaks the surface and waggles about in the air. I realise that a small fish has got itself stuck in the weed just about a foot beyond my reach. 
I couldn't sit there and watch the poor little thing struggle so set about working out rescue plans. All I had at hand were reed stems and most of them were either too short to reach or too weak to deal with the strong weed. Eventually I found the ideal stem and managed to extricate the fish from its predicament and flip it on to the surface. 
At this point I felt this young fish owed me a blip so I asked it to wait while I grabbed its portrait. I think it said "bob". Actually it wasn't really able to move anywhere on its own so once photo was taken I flipped it into the water where it floated looking half dead for a while and then suddenly was gone. I just hope it was grateful  and doesn't swim back in that direction until it's big enough to deal with the weed. 
I did get a photo of a dragonfly but perched on the rock near by. You can see it in extras if you wish. 
The main was taken on micro 4/3 14mm lens (equivalent to 28mm on a full frame DSLR) so I guess it just about rates as wide. Thank you for hosting Freyjad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.