KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Bit Cooler Today

What a relief! It was almost chilly this morning compared to the high temps of the last couple of days!

I was able to spend a bit of time puttering and watering in the garden this morning, and caught this new addition to my garden in full bloom. This is Hibiscus syriacus 'Fiji' or Fiji Rose of Sharon.  I bought it in March, probably the first week that the corona virus was taking hold. No one was at the nursery - I literally had it all to myself. I had already decided that I wanted to add a small tree to the front border and had a couple in mind, but settled on this. It's a standard - meaning it has one trunk, not the several that Rose of Sharon typically has. Eventually it might be 8-12' tall. But what beautiful flowers! These of course are not raindrops, but a good soaking from the irrigation. 

My mom went home yesterday from respite care. She's doing ok for being 92 years old, with Parkinson's Disease and a smashed clavicle that required surgery. She looks very frail and is in a wheel chair.....and dozed much of the time I was there. But we are all happy that she is home with my dad and her cat Lily. My sister has been approved to be a personal caregiver so she can be in their home with a mask on to help out. We have caregivers helping mom during the time that she's awake, and my brother and I can visit her outside on their patio, with masks on. Strange times indeed, but the feelings of preciousness and love are somehow intensified.

Be well dear blipmates! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.